HEAVEN & HELL: Full ‘Children Of The Sea’ Performance From ‘Neon Nights’ DVD Available – Nov. 15, 2010

google.com, pub-2427795083793513, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

from blabbermouth…

On November 16, Eagle Rock will unveil HEAVEN & HELL “Neon Nights”. This DVD and CD release captures the historic four-man army performing at the Wacken Open Air festival on July 30, 2009. Check out an e-card for the effort at this location.

HEAVEN & HELL‘s full-song performance of the BLACK SABBATH classic “Children Of The Sea” — taken from the “Neon Nights” DVD — can be viewed below. (Note: A two-minute clip of this same track was previously released.)

On this hot summer night, vocalist Ronnie James Dio, guitarist Tony Iommi, bassist Geezer Butler, and drummer Vinny Appice commanded the stage, transcending the mere concept of a heavy metal concert. The strength and veracity of Dio‘s delivery, which has inspired three generations of metal vocalists, wrapped itself around each and every audience member. Butler‘s declarative bass lines, Iommi‘s legendary riffing, and Appice‘s unrelenting fills provide the forceful heartbeat behind anthems “Mob Rules”, “Die Young”, “Neon Knights”, and namesake tune “Heaven And Hell”.

The DVD also boasts 30th anniversary interviews with all four band members as a bonus feature. Personal one-on-ones are conducted with Ronnie, Tony, Geezer, and Vinny as they reflect on the making of their “Heaven And Hell” album. Additionally, the “Neon Nights” DVD has newly recorded personal tributes from Iommi, Appice, and Butler in memory of Dio.

“Neon Nights” track listing:


01. E5150
02. The Mob Rules
03. Children Of The Sea
04. I
05. Bible Black
06. Time Machine
07. Fear
08. Falling Off The Edge of the World
09. Follow The Tears
10. Die Young
11. Heaven And Hell
12. Country Girl
13. Neon Knights


01. The Mob Rules
02. Children Of The Sea
03. I
04. Bible Black
05. Time Machine
06. Fear
07. Falling Off The Edge Of The World
08. Follow The Tears
09. Die Young
10. Heaven And Hell
11. Neon Knights

“The Devil You Know” sold 30,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release back in May 2009 to debut at position No. 8 on The Billboard 200 chart.

In 2006, BLACK SABBATH members Dio, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Vinny Appice reunited to record a trio of new songs for Rhino‘s “Black Sabbath: The Dio Years” before launching a greatly acclaimed world tour under their new moniker HEAVEN & HELL.

BLACK SABBATH‘s “The Rules Of Hell” box set — which features all three of SABBATH‘s Dio-era studio releases (“Heaven And Hell”, “Mob Rules”, “Dehumanizer”) and its double live collection (“Live Evil”), each remastered for the first time — sold around 2,650 copies in the United States in its first week of release back in July 2008. “The Rules Of Hell” came packaged in a deluxe slipcase with extensive liner notes featuring all-new interviews with the band.